Two decades of Tendulkar

The Times of India recently took a look at Sachin Tendulkar’s cricket career:

1989: Made Irani Trophy debut for Rest of India against Delhi, scoring 39 & 103 not out to become the youngest (16 yrs, 197 days) to score a Irani ton.

1990: Became the youngest Indian and the second-youngest in world to notch up a hundred in Test cricket during his unbeaten 119 against England.

1991: Scored 159 & 8 in Duleep Trophy, becoming the first to muster hundreds on debut in Ranji, Irani and Duleep Trophies.

1992: Became first player to be dismissed by television replays.

1993: Became the first player to send his first over of the match as the last and deciding over, in the semis of the Hero Cup against South Africa. Conceded 3 runs as India won by 2 runs!

1994: Scored his maiden ODI hundred in his 79th match, against Australia at Colombo.

1995: Notched up 12 centuries in international cricket before turning 22, a unique record.

1996: Became youngest Indian ODI captain at 23 years & 126 days.

1997: Named among five Wisden cricketers of the year.

1998: Amassed 1894 ODI runs with the help of 9 centuries and 7 fifties at 65.31 and a strike rate of 102.15, a world record for most runs and most centuries in a calendar year.

1999: Scored 186 not out against New Zealand, then the highest ever by an Indian in ODIs.

2000: Became highest run-getter in ODIs, eclipsing the previous best of 9378 runs by Mohd Azharuddin.

2001: Becomes first player to plunder 10,000 ODI runs.

2002: Reached 8000 runs in the fastest time in terms of innings (154), surpassing the record of Garfield Sobers (157 innings).

2003: Scored 673 runs in the 2003 World Cup. It remains the highest aggregate by any player in a World Cup till date.

2004: Became first player to reach 13,000 One-day runs.

2005: Became highest century-maker in Test cricket with his 35th ton against Sri Lanka.

2006: Reached 14,000 runs in his 359th ODI.

2007: Crossed the 1000-run mark in ODIs in a calendar year for the seventh time, the most by any player.

2008: Became highest run-getter in Test cricket, surpassing Brian Lara’s record of 11,953 runs.

2009: Became first and only player to cross 17,000 runs in ODIs. 

2010: Two major milestones in ODIs and Tests. At Gwalior in February, became the first and only player to hit a ODI double century. On Sunday, he hit his 50th Test ton at Centurion. – the trophy and engraving specialist


© 2024 Premier Trophies Store. All Rights Reserved. Premier Trophies is a trading name of Hockerill Engraving Limited. Registered in England and Wales No. 8110555, VAT No. GB 136 9323 05
Premier Trophies, Unit 7a Mendip Business Park, Mendip Road, Rooksbridge, Somerset, BS26 2UG